Life Cycle Of Silkworm


Typically, the growth of silkworms can be divided

into 4 stages: egg stage, larvae stage, cocoon stage, and adult moth stage.



The life cycle of silkworms starts from the adult moths which have a 2-3 day lifespan for mating and laying eggs. A female moth lays about 

200-500 eggs and dies later. Eggs are incubated for one week. At the beginning, the eggs are yellow and then change into dark gray before hatching into silkworms or larvae.


Larvae eat mulberry leaves

three times a day: morning, midday, and evening.

Larvae are divided into 2 groups: young larvae at 1-3 stage, and late aged larvae at 4-5 stage. 

The larvae take about 20-30 days for food consumption and molting.

Cocoon & Pupa

At the age of 20-30 days, larvae’s bodies change into yellow and, at this stage, they are called mature larvae. Mature larvae are separated to build cocoons. The larvae spin silk threads to cover themselves. They take about 5-7 days to build cocoons and they trapped themselves in the cocoons for another 5-7 days in order to transform into pupas and then they become adult moths. The complete life cycle of silkworms is around 45-50 days.

A tiny black caterpillar hatches out of its egg.

The caterpillar eats mulberry leaves and grows bigger and bigger. It goes through 4molts.

The caterpillar spins a cocoon of silk threads around itself.

Inside the cocoon, the caterpillar changes into a pupa

People unwind the silk thread from the cocoons to weave into silk cloth.

The pupa chages into a moth. The moth comes out of the cocoon.

Adult moths mate with each other.

The female moth lays many tiny eggs.